13 nominated for Mak guild polls

Written by: 
Moses Kyeyune

The Electoral Commission at Makerere University has nominated 13 candidates for this year’s guild elections slated for 19th March 2014.

The Commission’s General Secretary, Harris Justus Akampurira said 14 candidates had picked nomination forms but only 13 managed to return them in time before closure on Saturday.

They include FDC’s Benson Chark, UYD’s Sarah Aseru, NRM’s Boniface Junior Mbabazi, Ivan Bwowe (Independent), Faisal Muyiga Kisiki(Independent), Musiime Philip (Independent) Julius Tabaaro (Independent)and Eddy Kintu (Independent). Others are; Lillian Aber(Independent), Emmanuel Wanyama Ojambo (Independent), Sam Bamakech (Independent), Emmanuel Murungi (Independent) and Nicholas Nanyenya (Independent).

Andrew Mujinya, whose academic documents are said to have had queries failed to meet the deadline.

He accused the electoral commission and the academic staff at the College of Information and Communication Technology of conspiracy to lock him out of the 2014 polls.
“The college withheld my results until the last minute and I could not raise the required signatures in time,” Mujinya said.

Akampurira however denied the allegation saying that all candidates were fully aware of the commission’s requirements.

“It was made clear to the students fraternity that deadline is 5 O’clock on Saturday,” said Akampurira.

He added that no candidate would be given extra consideration after closure of business.
Akampurira also said that all candidates’ documents are to undergo scrutiny to ensure that they meet an academic requirement of normal progress before a final list of contenders is made public.
All nominated candidates are hoping for victory and promising a news future for the university.
Meanwhile DP’s Uganda Young Democrats which has convinced some of its disgruntled candidates to join Aseru say they are ready for the polls.

Geoffrey Mutagobwa who had vowed to stand as an independent told our reporter that he envisioned unity as the only way to go.

“I initially wanted to stand as an independent but after consultations with prominent party members, I resolved to join efforts with Ms. Aseru for the common interest of the party,” said Mutagobwa, a second year student of Social sciences.

The jubilant Aseru welcomed the move and said that now students should only wait to receive her as President.

UYD Primary Polls
Sarah Aseru came first with 33 votes out of 62 delegates beating four others; Ivan Bwowe (20) Moses Mulira (5) and Kalvin Balumpagi (4) and Geoffrey Mutagobwa (boycotted).