University Rugby 7s Championship Kicks Off

Written by: 
Sharifah Nambi



The Vice Chancellor, Professor Barnabas Nawangwe has launched the University championship Rugby 7s tournament at Makerere Impis Rugby Grounds popularly known as the Graveyard.

The games which are organised by the Federation of Africa University Sports (FASU) in conjunction with Uganda’s Rugby Federation have commenced today and will close tomorrow, Sunday.

 In his opening remarks, Professor Nawangwe thanked FASU for supporting Rugby and also organising these first games.

“I congratulate FASU for organising these first games, nothing unites us like sports and we have realised that Rugby is a growing game on the African continent. As Makerere we support all sports activities,” Nawangwe says.

The Vice Chancellor also pointed out that he is not only a fan of Rugby but he was also a Rugby player

“I am not just a fan. I also used to play Rugby until when age caught up with me and I was advised to stop. I wish all of you enjoyable games and, please, welcome to Makerere, welcome to Uganda, come back next time. It's now my pleasure to declare the tournament open,” Nawangwe said.

While addressing athletes, the President of the Association of Uganda University Sports, Peninah Kabenge, thanked participants from the four countries, the Chief Guest and all the sponsors of Rugby championship 7s for honouring their invitation.

“To all participants, this is Makerere University and we're at the Graveyard. Makerere guys are ready to burry any team here, so watch out. We are ten teams from four countries. This is the first event but I assure you it is going to grow bigger, it is here to stay until we grow and have more African teams,” Kabenge noted.

FASU president, Nomsa Mahlangu, from South Africa, thanked Makerere University for hosting this tournament. She also thanked the athletes for honouring the invitation.

 The Games are sponsored by Fresh Diary, Nile Breweries and Uganda Rugby Union. Ten teams from Uganda, Kenya, South Africa and Botswana are pooled in two groups.

Pool A has University of Johannesburg from South Africa, Kenyatta University and Kibabii University from Kenya, Makerere University Business School and Uganda Martyrs University, both from Uganda.

Pool B brings together United States International University from Kenya, Makerere University, Kyambogo University and Uganda Christian University from Uganda, and Botswana International University of Science & Technology from Botswana.

Courtesy Photo